Philipp Oswalt (Translation Tas Skorupa) | 2000
 
Texte Print [HTML]

   'Berlin_City without Form' | The Ephemeral

In times of change Berlin experienced constant and radical reorganization, which left large undefined areas in its urban fabric. The collapse of four German states, the destruction of World War Two, the division of the city, stagnation and shrinking, bad planning and deindustrialization led to faults and created spaces which were deprived of their normal cycle of economic use as well as the everyday life of the city's population. In this way seemingly functionless spaces were created which formed a breeding ground for unexpected activities.

Remote from the conventional rules of society an enormous spectrum of spontaneous activities developed here, from gardens, trailer camps, markets, sport and recreation to cultural activities and nightlife. Along with these, new fashions, cultures, and lifestyles were created. While in the seventies and early eighties it was the squatter's movements, alternative lifestyles, and punk which experimented with collective forms of living and subversive aesthetics, following the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 a club culture and techno scene developed which brought forth a new art and music scene. It is a good example of the emerging euphoria in the new Berlin and has contributed considerably to the capital's legendary status.

The sites of subculture are zones of independence. As counter-worlds they offer space for activities which are excluded or are not planned by society. In his examination of the subject of shopping, Rem Koolhaas describes the 'paradigmatic change from the public and private to the controlled and residual, [ 1 ] that is, the left-over. According to him it is no longer an issue of public versus private, but of the conflict between controlled and abandoned spaces. On the one hand there are areas like shopping malls or airports which are planned in the tiniest details and run with great expertise and are neither public nor private, but on the other hand there are deserted left-over spaces, zones of the residual.

In the twentieth century, Berlin was an urban laboratory for examining the residual. Residual spaces represent the experimental fields of the city. Open to the unknown, they become catalysts for the emergence of the new. They exist only temporarily and are sooner or later reabsorbed by the controlling substance of the city organism; yet at the same time, spaces are formed in other places which are useless for general use by society. Like residual spaces, these temporary activities are also unstable. They transform themselves and disappear as spontaneously as they are formed. They thus react to exclusion and displacement. In this way the 'Polish Markets' of the early nineties were driven from Potsdamer Platz to the city limits of Berlin and then beyond the German-Polish border. The club scene was displaced by developments it had stimulated itself with its success in the years following the fall of the Berlin Wall, and it thus migrated from Kreuzberg via Mitte to Prenzlauer Berg and Friedrichshain. Nomadism results from the external pressure and reacquired control of established societal structures over the territories, yet it is also the nature of temporary uses.

Due to their transitoriness, these ephemeral activities are not tangible. Moving around is a strategy of concealment. A good example of this is UFO, the first techno disco of the period before the fall of the Berlin Wall. As an illegal club it eluded the police by continually moving and informed its patrons by telephone chains. 'The concept of UFO was simple. It took off and landed somewhere,' [ 2 ] says Dimitri Hegemann, the initiator of UFO. Many clubs copied this concept, always looking for new, unusual locations. By using music equipment, strobe lights, fog machines, drinks and drugs, unusual places could be transformed in just a few hours into the most sought-after club spaces. It was even easier to install one of the legendary weekday bars which were only open one day a week. Instability becomes the motor of constant new discovery. The change of location is accompanied by an updating of the idea. And then clubs run the risk of petrification when they settle down. To avoid this, the principle of a club in a club was developed. 'Maria am Ostbahnhof,' for example, serves as a platform for other organizers of events, such as 'Flittchen-Bar,' 'Hirschbar,' 'Suicide-Club,' or 'Lomographische Botschaft,' each of which has its own program and appeals to a different audience. By means of this principle, change which is no longer present in external circumstances is maintained.

Temporary uses come about in loose groupings which are formed, then grow, split, merge, and disintegrate. They act flexibly on a local level. Using a sort of urban guerilla tactics, they take advantage of chances that present themselves and adapt to changed conditions, developing extreme dynamics in the process. Temporary activities create a maximum of intensity with a minimum of substance. Existing infrastructures, buildings, and land reserves are activated with the most meager local resources. This ease allows investors without capital to actively design the city and its space. The basic rules of capitalism seem to be without power in these zones: cultural and urban experiments can be realized practically without financial means and then in the process often develop an enormous effectiveness.

They spread out like rhizome, infiltrating the city like wickerwork and implant themselves in niches and gaps. Or they take over established places. Through this invasion they urbanize homogenous areas of the city, creating a mixture of activities which compensate for programmatic deficiencies. As a zone of otherness they radiate back on the zone of the everyday and the self-evident. They undermine existing categories and assumptions and destabilize existing structures.

They reprogram spaces that are closed down and lying waste. Transformer stations, bunkers, and coal stores are made into places of recreation, supermarkets and administrative offices are transformed into art galleries, factory buildings into apartments and cultural centers. Like in a surrealist collage, elements of opposite worlds meet. Living rooms become club rooms, the club scene merges with youth sport, art, or literature. There are crossovers of different cultural areas which had previously been separated. The basis of this is the club which serves as a platform open for different programs. The club becomes a place which simply offers the space and the infrastructure for different activities and events. Conventional orders are suspended in the process. Different things are brought together in the available space: for example, when new music styles come about by sampling, recombining, and merging of existing musical material, or when techno is recombined with jazz or choral music, punk with classical or salsa, hip hop with John Cage. The same applies for the interiors of the club culture. Materials and objects from extremely disparate contexts find a common meeting ground. In this way, a space for dealing with rejected, excluded aesthetics is created: While the aesthetics of the GDR have been systematically eliminated in the official Berlin of the nineties, the club and art scene has critically appropriated them by recycling found material.

The principle of crossovers also has an effect on social categories. The 'Polish Markets' which appeared in West Berlin at the end of the eighties were places where Poles, Turks, and Germans encountered each other with an otherwise unknown intensity and directness. Another example of social mixture is 'Volxgolf,' organized by a private initiative on the grounds of the former Stadium of World Youth. Construction workers, managers, refugee children, the downtown scene from Mitte, and Turks from Wedding meet here to play golf, now and again playing at night with fluorescent balls, barbecue fires, and beer. The inner city wastelands particularly present unexpected suburban or country scenes in the heart of the metropolis: playing boules on the wasteland at Potsdamer Platz in the eighties, going for walks and barbecuing at Gleisdreieck, riding ponies on the former death strip of the Berlin Wall behind the Springer Building in Mitte. Or also the scenes of the postwar period, when the impoverished population planted vegetable gardens in front of the Reichstag, farmed in the Tiergarten, or bathed in bomb craters. And like man, nature also develops. The wastelands of Berlin, with over 1300 types of plants, are the richest biotopes in Europe in terms of numbers of species.

Temporary activities spread their subversive character in political action. Sit-ins and sleep-ins are a radicalized version of reprogramming. Instead of moving into available niches, existing institutions such as factories or schools are removed from their normative everyday cycles and used for an alternative scenario. This piratry is a means to an end, the aggressive reprogramming of space is a tool to change established structures. Introduced by the student movements of the sixties, this means of violence-free resistance has continued to this day in the form of school and workers' strikes. The most recent example is the transformation of the Alcatel Cable Factory in the Neukölln section of Berlin into the 'Hotel Alcatel' in September 1999. Employees whose jobs were threatened had occupied the factory using this name.

Due to their instability, temporary uses usually represent only a short or somewhat longer transitional period for a location. As stopgaps, temporary programs can be displaced by different ones and can disappear without a trace. But often they act as triggers which enable a temporary use to establish itself and take on a permanent form. A good example of this is the squatters of the eighties and nineties in Berlin. Two-thirds of the slightly less than five hundred houses were emptied, but approximately one-third could be given a lasting use by purchasing or renting. These houses today form a network of alternative culture, among which - apart from numerous living and working collectives - there are also cultural organizations like 'UFA-Fabrik,' 'Kerngehäuse,' 'Schokoladen,' or 'Tacheles.' Another example is Auguststrasse, where in the summer of 1992 the exhibition '37 Rooms' took place for one week. Thirty-seven curators each conceived one room in various empty buildings. This one-time art event was a sort of trial run for the twenty-odd commercial galleries which have established themselves there by now. Real estate owners take advantage of such initial uses. They tolerate or initiate more and more non-commercial temporary activities in order to prepare for future uses, to make the real estate known as a 'location', to raise its price, and to make it easier to market.

For their initiators and the people running them, temporary uses are often a transitional step towards professionalization and establishment. Good examples of this are the careers of Thomas Ostermeier and Jens Hillje, the director and the dramaturge of the 'Baracke' stage of the Deutsches Theater. Having become known through their work for the provisional experimental stage in the mid-nineties, they have now taken over the direction of another theater, the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz. The same is the case for the club and gallery scene, which among other things has led to the founding of music labels or cultural institutions such as 'Kunstwerke' on Auguststrasse.

Established institutions such as museums or marketing departments of large corporations are by now copying the nomadic strategies and the event character of temporary uses. By making available their structures and concepts, they are trying to push their way into the youth and culture scene. They stage street events such as the Street Soccer World Cup in 1995 in the Lustgarten on Museum Island in Berlin which was organized by the sporting goods company Puma as part of an advertising campaign. Or the 'Long Night of the Museums,' which has been taking place twice a year since 1997, in which Berlin's museum world becomes a sort of party-giver.

The urbanity of the temporary in Berlin is thus in danger of disappearing. On the one hand there are the threats of being displaced, and on the other hand by becoming established or 'taken over by the enemy.' At the same time, new things are being created in the residual zones located somewhat further out, unnoticed by the public. The instability of the metropolis expresses itself in temporary uses. Here the leftover energy of the metropolis can be released, the 'free radicals' can develop. Contrary to the lethargy of architecture and the ossification of buildings, temporary activities are flexible and changeable in their fleeting lightness. They generate and absorb the unexpected and new. As persistent and unpredictable as temporary activities are, undoubtedly they will continue to reinvent themselves and spring up unexpectedly in the future of the city.


published in : 'Berlin_Stadt ohne Form, Strategien einer anderen Architektur' | Mčnchen/ New York | 2000
 
Texte Top Print [HTML]
 

Notes :
[ 1 ] Lecture at the conference 'Learning from the Mall of America,' 22 November 1997 at the University of Minnesota. The work is the result of a study done with students, entitled 'Harvard Project on the City' (1996 - 97).
[ 2 ] Quoted after Oliva Henkel and Karsten Wolff: Berlin Underground. Techno und Hip Hop zwischen Mythos und Ausverkauf, Berlin 1996, p. 32.

Philipp Oswalt | 2000
 
Texte Drucken [HTML]

   'Berlin_Stadt ohne Form' | Temporäres

In Zeiten des Wandels wurde die Stadt immer wieder radikal umorganisiert, wobei große Areale undefiniert blieben. Der Zusammenbruch von vier deutschen Staaten, die Zerstörungen des Zweiten Weltkriegs, die Teilung der Stadt, Stagnation und Schrumpfung, Fehlplanungen und Deindustrialisierung führten zu Verwerfungen und schufen Räume, die dem normalen Zyklus der ökonomischen Verwertung wie auch dem Alltag der Stadtbevölkerung entzogen waren. So entstanden scheinbar funktionslose Räume, die einen Nährboden für unerwartete Aktivitäten bildeten.

Abseits der herkömmlichen gesellschaftlichen Regeln entwickelte sich hier eine enorme Bandbreite von spontanen, oft illegalen Aktivitäten von Gartenbau, Wagenburgen, Märkten, Sport und Erholung bis zu Kunstbetrieb und Nightlife. Mit diesen entstanden neue Moden, Kulturen, Lebensstile. Waren es in den siebziger und frühen achtziger Jahren die Hausbesetzer-, die Alternativ- und die Punkbewegung, die mit kollektiven Lebensformen und subversiver Ästhetik experimentierten, so bildete sich in den ersten Jahren der Nachwendezeit die Clubkultur und Technoszene aus, die eine neue Kunst- und Musikszene hervorgebracht hat. Sie steht exemplarisch für die Aufbruchseuphorie des neuen Berlin und hat den neuen Hauptstadtmythos entscheidend geprägt.

Die Orte der Subkultur sind Zonen der Unabhängigkeit. Als Gegenwelten bieten sie Raum für Aktivitäten, die von der Gesellschaft ausgegrenzt oder nicht vorgesehen sind. Rem Koolhaas beschreibt in seiner Untersuchung zum Thema Shopping den 'Paradigmawechsel vom Öffentlichen und Privaten zum Kontrollierten und Residualen,'[ 1 ] das heißt Übriggebliebenen. Ihm zufolge geht es nicht mehr um Öffentlichkeit versus Privatheit, sondern um den Gegensatz zwischen kontrollierten und aufgegebenen Räumen. Einerseits gibt es Areale wie etwa Shopping Malls oder Flughäfen, die bis ins letzte Detail und mit einem extremen Wissen geplant und betrieben werden und weder öffentlich noch privat sind, andererseits gibt es verwahrloste Resträume, Zonen des Residualen.

Berlin war im 20. Jahrhundert ein urbanes Laboratorium zur Untersuchung des Residualen. Offen für das Unbekannte stellen die Residualräume die Experimentierfelder der Stadt dar, Katalysatoren für die Entstehung des Neuen. Sie existieren nur vorübergehend und werden früher oder später der kontrollierten Substanz des Stadtorganismus wieder einverleibt; doch zugleich bilden sich andernorts erneut Räume, die für die allgemeine gesellschaftliche Verwertung nutzlos sind. Wie die Residualräume sind auch die temporären Aktivitäten instabil. Sie transformieren sich und verschwinden so spontan wie sie entstehen. Sie reagieren damit auf Ausgrenzung und Verdrängung. So wurden die 'Polenmärkte' der frühen neunziger Jahre vom Potsdamer Platz an den Stadtrand Berlins und jenseits der deutsch-polnischen Grenze gedrängt. Die Clubszene der Nachwendezeit hat durch ihren Erfolg Entwicklungen stimuliert, die sie nunmehr selbst verdrängen. So wanderte sie von Kreuzberg über Mitte nach Prenzlauer Berg und Friedrichshain. Der Nomadismus resultiert aus dem äußeren Druck und der zurückgewonnenen Kontrolle etablierter Gesellschaftsstrukuren über die Territorien, doch liegt er auch im Wesen temporärer Nutzungen.

Aufgrund ihrer Flüchtigkeit sind diese ephemeren Aktivitäten nicht greifbar. Das Umherziehen wird zu einer Strategie des Verbergens. Beispielhaft dafür ist das UFO, die erste Techno-Disco aus der Vorwendezeit. Als illegaler Club entzog er sich durch ständigen Ortswechsel dem polizeilichen Zugriff und informierte die Gäste über Telefonketten. 'Das UFO Konzept war einfach. Es steigt auf und landet irgendwo',[ 2 ] sagt Dimitri Hegemann, Initiator des UFO. Viele Clubs haben dieses Konzept kopiert, immer auf der Suche nach neuen, außergewöhnlichen Locations. Mittels Musikanlage, Stroboskoplicht, Nebelmaschine, Drinks und Drogen ließen sich ausgefallene Orte in wenigen Stunden zu den gefragtesten Clubräumen verwandeln. Noch einfacher war die Installation einer der legendären Wochentagbars, die nur einmal wöchentlich geöffnet sind. Die Instabilität wird zum Motor der ständigen Neuerfindung. Mit dem Ortswechsel geht die Aktualisierung der Konzeption einher. Und so drohen Clubs zu versteinern, wenn sie seßhaft werden. Um dies zu vermeiden, wurde das Prinzip des Club im Club entwickelt. So dient das 'Maria am Ostbahnhof' als Plattform für andere Veranstalter, wie 'Flittchen-Bar', 'Hirschbar', 'Suicide-Club' oder 'Lomographische Botschaft', die jeweils ein eigenes Programm verfolgen und ein anderes Publikum ansprechen. Durch dieses Prinzip wird der Wandel aufrecht erhalten, der durch die äußeren Umstände nicht mehr gegeben ist.

Temporäre Nutzungen entstehen aus losen Gruppierungen, die sich finden, wachsen, aufspalten, verschmelzen und zerfallen. Diese agieren lokal und flexibel. In einer Art urbanen Guerilla-Taktik nutzen sie sich auftuende Möglichkeiten und passen sich veränderten Bedingungen an. Eine extreme Dynamik entwickelt sich. Temporäre Aktivitäten schaffen ein Maximum an Intensität mit einem Minimum an Substanz. Bestehende Infrastrukturen, Bauten und Flächenreserven werden mit geringsten lokalen Mitteln aktiviert. Die Leichtigkeit erlaubt es Akteuren ohne Kapital, die Stadt und ihren Raum aktiv zu gestalten. Die Grundregeln des Kapitalismus scheinen in diesen Zonen außer Kraft gesetzt: Fast ohne Geldmittel können kulturelle und urbane Experimente realisiert werden und entfalten dabei häufig eine enorme Wirksamkeit.

Sie breiten sich wie ein Rhizom aus, durchdringen wie ein Flechtwerk die Stadt, nisten sich in Nischen und Lücken ein. Oder sie kapern etablierte Orte. Durch diese Infiltration urbanisieren sie homogene Stadtviertel, erzeugen eine Durchmischung von Aktivitäten und kompensieren programmatische Defizite. Als einer Zone des Andersseins strahlen sie auf die Zone des Alltäglichen und Selbstverständlichen zurück. Sie unterminieren bestehende Kategorien und Annahmen und destabilisieren existierende Strukturen.

Sie reprogrammieren aufgelassene, brachliegende Räume. Umspannwerke, Bunker, Kohlenhandlungen werden zu Orten der Freizeitkultur, Supermärkte und Verwaltungsräume zu Kunstgalerien, Fabrikbauten zu Wohnungen und Kulturzentren. Wie in einer surrealistischen Collage treffen Elemente entgegengesetzter Welten aufeinander. Wohnzimmer werden zu Clubräumen, die Clubszene verschmilzt mit Jugendsport, Kunst oder Literatur. Es kommt zum Crossover unterschiedlicher, zuvor getrennter Kulturbereiche. Basis dafür bildet der Club, der als eine Plattform fungiert, offen für verschiedene Programme. Der Club wird zum Ort, der lediglich den Raum und die Infrastruktur für unterschiedliche Aktivitäten und Events bietet. Herkömmliche Ordnungen werden dabei suspendiert. Im verflüssigten Raum wird Unterschiedliches miteinander verknüpft. Wenn etwa aus dem Samplen, Rekombinieren und Verschmelzen vorhandenen musikalischen Materials neue Musikstile entstehen, wenn Techno mit Jazz oder Choralgesängen, Punk mit Classic oder Salsa, Hip-Hop mit John Cage rekombiniert wird. Gleiches gilt für die Interieurs der Clubkultur. Hier treffen Materialien und Gegenstände aus den unterschiedlichsten Kontexten zusammen. So öffnet sich ein Raum zur Auseinandersetzung mit verworfenen, ausgegrenzten Ästhetiken: Während die DDR-Ästhetik im offiziellen Berlin der neunziger Jahre systematisch eliminiert wurde, hat sich die Club- und Kunstszene über das Recycling von vorgefundenem Material diese kritisch angeeignet.

Auch auf soziale Kategorien wirkt sich das Prinzip des Crossovers aus. So waren die Ende der achtziger Jahre in Westberlin aufkommenden 'Polenmärkte' Orte, wo sich Polen, Türken und Deutsche in einer sonst unbekannten Intensität und Direktheit begegneten. Ein weiteres Beispiel sozialer Mischung ist das von einer privaten Initiative organisierte 'Volxgolf' auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Stadions der Weltjugend. Hier treffen sich Bauarbeiter, Manager, Flüchtlingskinder, die Szene aus Mitte und Türken aus dem Wedding zum Golfen, spielen mit fluoreszierenden Bällen zuweilen Nachts bei Grillfeuer und Bier. Überhaupt stellen die innerstädtischen Brachflächen unvermutet suburbane oder ländliche Szenen im Herzen der Großstadt dar: Boulespiel auf der Brache am Potsdamer Platz in den achtziger Jahren, Spazierengehen und Grillen auf dem Gleisdreieck, Pony-Reiten auf dem ehemaligen Mauerstreifen hinter dem Hochhaus des Springerkonzerns in Mitte. Oder auch die Szenen aus der Nachkriegszeit, als die Not leidende Bevölkerung Gemüsegärten vor dem Reichstag anlegte, Ackerbau im Tiergarten betrieb oder in den Bombenlöchern baden ging. Und wie der Mensch entfaltet sich auch die Natur. Die Brachflächen Berlins sind mit über 1300 Pflanzenarten die artenreichsten Biotope Europas.

Ihren subversiven Charakter entfalten temporäre Aktivitäten in politischen Aktionen. Sit-ins und Sleep-ins sind eine radikalisierte Version des Reprogramming. Anstatt sich in vorhandene Nischen einzunisten, werden existierende Institutionen wie Fabriken oder Hochschulen durch die Besetzung ihrem normativen Alltag entzogen und für ein alternatives Szenario genutzt. Diese Piraterie ist Mittel zum Zweck, die aggressive Reprogrammierung des Raums ein Werkzeug, um etablierte Strukturen zu verändern. Eingeführt durch die Studentenbewegung der sechziger Jahre, hat sich dieses Mittel des gewaltfreien Widerstands über Hochschul- und Arbeiterstreiks bis in unsere Tage fortgesetzt. Jüngstes Beispiel war die Umwandlung des Alcatel-Kabelwerks in Neukölln im September 1999 in das 'Hotel Alcatel'. Unter diesem Namen besetzte die von Entlassung bedrohte Belegschaft ihre Fabrik.

Aufgrund ihrer Instabilität bilden temporäre Nutzungen für einen Ort zumeist nur eine kürzere oder längere Übergangsperiode. Als Lückenbüßer können temporäre Programme von andersartigen verdrängt werden und spurlos verschwinden. Oft allerdings bilden sie ein Initial. So kann sich eine temporäre Nutzung auch etablieren und eine permanente Form annehmen. Beispielhaft hierfür sind die Hausbesetzungen der achtziger und neunziger Jahre. Zwei Drittel der knapp 500 Häuser wurden geräumt, aber zirka ein Drittel gelangten über Kauf- oder Mietverträge zu einer dauerhaften Nutzung. Heute bilden diese Häuser ein Netzwerk der Alternativkultur, zu dem neben zahlreichen Wohn- und Arbeitskollektiven kulturelle Einrichtungen wie die UFA-Fabrik, das Kerngehäuse, der Schokoladen oder das Tacheles gehören. Ein anderes Beispiel ist die Auguststraße, wo im Sommer 1992 die einwöchige Ausstellung '37 Räume' stattfand. Für verschiedene leer stehende Bauten konzipierten 37 Kuratoren jeweils einen Raum. Dieses einmalige Kunstereignis wurde quasi zu einem Probelauf für die dort inzwischen über 20 etablierten kommerziellen Galerien. Immobilieneigentümer machen sich die Vorteile solcher Initial-Nutzungen zu eigen. Sie tolerieren oder initiieren zunehmend nicht kommerzielle temporäre Aktivitäten, um künftige Nutzungen vorzubereiten, die Immobilie als 'Location' bekannt zu machen, ihren Wert zu erhöhen und ihre Vermarktung zu erleichtern.

Für ihre Initiatoren und Betreiber sind temporäre Nutzungen oft eine Durchgangsstation zur Professionalisierung und Etablierung. Exemplarisch dafür sind die Karrieren des Leiters und des Dramaturgen der Baracke des Deutschen Theaters, Thomas Ostermeier und Jens Hillje. Bekannt geworden durch ihre Arbeit für die provisorische Experimentierbühne in Containerbauten Mitte der neunziger Jahre, haben sie inzwischen die Leitung der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz mit übernommen. Gleiches gilt auch für die Club- und Galerieszene, die unter anderem zur Gründung von Musik-Labels oder Kulturinstitutionen wie den 'Kunstwerken' in der Auguststraße geführt hat.

Etablierte Institutionen wie Museen oder die Marketingabteilungen großer Konzerne kopieren mittlerweile die nomadische Strategie und den Eventcharakter temporärer Nutzungen. Durch eine Verflüssigung ihrer Strukturen und Konzepte versuchen sie, in die Jugend- und Kulturszene einzudringen. Sie inszenieren Events im Straßenraum, wie etwa 1995 den Street-Soccer-World-Cup im Berliner Lustgarten auf der Museumsinsel, der von der Sportartikelfirma Puma als Teil einer Werbekampagne organisiert wurde. Oder die seit 1997 halbjährlich stattfindende 'Lange Nacht der Museen', in der die Berliner Museumswelt quasi als Partyveranstalter auftritt.

So droht die Urbanität des Temporären in Berlin zum einen durch Verdrängung, zum anderen durch Etablierung oder 'feindliche Übernahme' zu verschwinden. Gleichzeitig entsteht Neues in den abseitiger gelegenen residualen Zonen, unbemerkt von der Öffentlichkeit. In den temporären Nutzungen drückt sich die Instabilität der Großstadt aus. Hier kann sich die überschüssige Energie der großen Stadt entladen, können sich die 'freien Radikalen' entfalten. Entgegen der Trägheit der Architektur, der Erstarrung des Gebauten sind temporäre Aktivitäten in ihrer flüchtigen Leichtigkeit flexibel und wandelbar. Sie generieren und absorbieren das unerwartete Neue. Und so unberechenbar sie sind, werden sie auch in Zukunft immer wieder unerwartet auftauchen.


erschienen in : 'Berlin_Stadt ohne Form, Strategien einer anderen Architektur' | Mčnchen/ New York | 2000
 
Texte Seitenanfang Drucken [HTML]
 

Fussnoten :
[ 1 ] Vortrag auf der Konferenz 'Learning from the Mall of America', 22. November 1997 an der Universität von Minnesota, (USA). Die Arbeit ist Resultat einer mit Studenten durchgeführten Studie des 'Harvard Project on the City' (1996/1997)
[ 2 ] Zitiert nach Oliva Henkel, Karsten Wolff: Berlin Underground. Techno und HipHop zwischen Mythos und Ausverkauf, Berlin 1996, S. 32